Skip to main content

User Guides


Manage Students Groups


The Student List tab displays the student roster. The contents of this section vary depending on the student use mode.

For an individual lab, this section shows a list of enrolled students. Each student has an Enter button that opens a snapshot page of that student’s workspace.

student list - individual lab

For a group lab, this section shows a list of groups. Each group has an Enter button that opens a snapshot page of that group’s workspace.

student roster - group lab

In a group lab mode, enrolled students need to be assigned into groups and students in the same team will share one workspace.

Student Roster shows a list of the assigned groups. The number of unassigned students will be colored red.

unassigned students are displayed in red

⚠Important: When a student is not assigned to group, the lab page will not be available and the student will see the following message.

Your instructor has not yet assigned you to a group.png

You can assign students to groups in two ways, manual assign and auto-assign randomly. To assign the groups for the students, click Modify.

Method 1: Manual Assign

click modify to start assigning

Click +Create New Group(s) at the bottom of the section

click create new groups

Unfold a group and click Add Members to show all unassigned students.

click add members to the created group

Search for or select the students whom you want to assign to the group and remember to Submit.

selecr students and submit

Once you have finished the grouping, remember to click Apply to save all changes.

click apply to apply the modification

Method 2: Auto-assign Random Groups

To assign groups automatically, click +Create New Group and Auto Assign and then specify the number of new groups you want to add.

(In the following example, we already have three groups, and we have used auto-assign to add another new group so that all the unassigned students are automatically assigned to the newly added group).

click create new groups and auto assign

Once you have finished the grouping, remember to click Apply to save all changes,

click apply to apply the modifications

The student roster will show students in groups, with a portal of each shared workspace as follows:

groups are displayed in student roster, with the group workspace