Skip to main content

User Guides

Manage Students Groups


The Student List tab displays the student roster. The contents of this section vary depending on the student use mode.

For an individual lab, this section shows a list of students who have started and opened the lab. Each student has an Enter button that opens a snapshot page of that student’s workspace.

Student list tab on lab page (individual lab type)

For a group lab, this section shows a list of groups. Each group has an Enter button that opens a snapshot page of that group’s workspace.

Student list tab on lab page (group lab type)

In a group lab mode, enrolled students need to be assigned into groups and students in the same team will share one workspace.

Student Roster shows a list of the assigned groups. The number of unassigned students will be colored red.

Unassigned grouping.

Important: When a student is not assigned to group, the lab page will not be available and the student will see the following message.

warning message: Your instructor has not yet assigned you to a group

You can assign students to groups in two ways, manual assign and auto-assign randomly. To assign the groups for the students, click Modify.

Method 1: Manual Assign

Method 1: manual assign

Click +Create New Group(s) at the bottom of the section

Create new group

Unfold a group and click Add Members to show all unassigned students.

Add members to the new group

Search for or select the students whom you want to assign to the group and remember to Submit.

Select students to add to the group

Once you have finished the grouping, remember to click Apply to save all changes.

Apply changes to save grouping

Method 2: Auto-assign Random Groups

To assign groups automatically, click +Create New Group and Auto Assign and then specify the number of new groups you want to add.

(In the following example, we already have three groups, and we have used auto-assign to add another new group so that all the unassigned students are automatically assigned to the newly added group).

Method 2: auto-assign random grouping

Once you have finished the grouping, remember to click Apply to save all changes,

Apply changes to save grouping

The student roster will show students in groups, with a portal of each shared workspace as follows:

Students roster with grouping completed